Herkimer New York Speeding Ticket Attorneys

Driver Responsibility Assessments

A Driver Responsibility Assessment is a fine imposed by the New York State DMV for certain traffic ticket convictions. These assessments are pay in one lump sum or once a year for three years and are in addition to fines, surcharges, and other penalties.  These assessments comes as a surprise to many people and also apply to drivers not licensed by New York State.

The DMV will make a driver responsibility assessment if:

1. A driver is convicted of an alcohol related violation.

2. A driver is convicted of a drug related violation.

3. A DMV hearing determines a driver refused a drug or sobriety test.

4. A driver receives 6 or more points on their driving records in a 18-month period.

For 1, 2, or 3, above, related to alcohol or drugs, the annual assessment is $250 for a total of $750 over the 3 year period.  For having six points on a driving record, the assessment is $100 per year for 3 years.  For every point over 6, there is an additional charge of $25 per point.  

For example,  a single speeding conviction for  86 mph in a 55 mph zone will result in an 8 points. That 8 point conviction will cost the driver an additional $150 per year for 3 years, for a total of $450.

These DMV assessments are in addition to the fine ($360-$600) imposed by the court,  and any adverse effect the conviction will have on insurance premiums and coverage. The assessments apply whether you have a driver license issued by NYS or any other jurisdiction, or you have no driver license at all.

Payment of an assessment is due to the DMV within 30 days of notice and failure to pay will result in a suspended license.

Read more at the New York DMV

Hire your traffic lawyer online. Start Now





LOADING